The Man Who Loved a Statue

One day I sat in a nearby park
And observed a thing ever so queer
A man approached a Statue there
And seemed to think it dear
image

He gazed into the Sculpture’s eyes
And whispered words of love
“My Angel!” he said, “I’ve found You now!
And You’ve found me from Above!”

He kissed Her hand several times
And then he kissed Her more
But still She looked on straight ahead
As if him She would ignore

Indeed the Sculpture was a beauty
Her marble of grey and white
A gift from another country,
Gold speckled Her with delight

The man had no good intention
Of stopping his conquest for love
From the Statue he thought loved him right back
Sent to him from above

“Come away with me!” he pleaded,
“I will always care for You!
We can be together finally as one
And make love the whole night through!”

Yet still the Statue would not budge
Watching, I thought it just might
Instead She kept Her stubborn stance
While not putting up any fight

The man was growing weary
He couldn’t understand why
She was closed to his approaches
And promises for a life

He looked into Her eyes again
Tears rolling down his face
He noticed now what he’d not seen before:
Another statue across the place

He walked to the other location
And looked at the sculpture there
‘Twas a male made also of marble and gold
Embracing the man’s Love with his stare
image

“I see,” I heard him softly say
As he slowly backed off the stand
“I know when I’ve been overcome
My Lady, I concede Your hand.”

He bowed to Her and kissed Her hand
Then what seemed an afterthought
Climbed onto Her pedestal
And kissed Her lips but not

To change Her pretty mind
Only this time to say goodbye
“He’ll never love You the way I do,
But he certainly will try.”

And slowly the forlorn man turned away
And walked toward his lonely home
As he walked away out of my sight
I myself began to roam

I swear I caught the quickest glimpse
Of sunlight gleam in Her eye
A tear? Or just a speck of gold?
If I knew I, too, would cry

2 thoughts on “The Man Who Loved a Statue

  1. Pingback: National You’re So Vain Week – The Spider and the Statue | Silence of the Hummingbird

Leave a Reply

