My Heart Is like the Springtime

My heart is like the springtime:
Missing!
One moment grass peeks through
The greyish mess grasping for its height;
The next moment blankets of white cover the land
Like obstacles to the fulfillment
Of the sweetest dream

My heart is like the springtime:
Held only in sensual fantasies
Of blooming flowers, sweet fragrances,
And birds sharing morning melodies
Of love and new life

My heart is like the springtime:
Running backwards to move forward
With efforts apparently
Too weak to reclaim
Its long lost rightful place

My heart is like the springtime:
So much hope for its arrival
While snowy white doubt
Covers the scientific facts
Of its inevitable arrival

My heart is like the springtime:
Requiring patience I no longer have,
Expecting me to smile through
Another cloudy day
As if I enjoyed the lonely cold

My heart is like the springtime:
Favored among seasons,
Anticipated,
Appreciated,
And still too far away

image

2 thoughts on “My Heart Is like the Springtime

Leave a Reply

