Freedom of the Eagle I Once Was

image
When I was an eagle
I would soar through the skies
Wind in my face
Pushing against my feathers
With the force of the gods

When I was an eagle
I would fly over oceans
Mountains and forests
Taking in lands no man
Had yet dared to explore

When I was an eagle
I would leap from small branches
Atop cliffs high above valleys
Never stopping to wonder if my wings could indeed carry me

When I was an eagle
Eyes sharp, talons at the ready
Eliciting fear in tiny creatures
Scampering in grass below
I cowered from no one

I soared to great heights
Trusting my wings
To carry me abroad and back home
Nestled in rock overlooking
My land of the free and the brave

Leave a Reply

