Avoiding the Void

Image

Quiet on a Saturday night
A break from the talking, laughing

Only the sound of circulating air
Spins around the rooms and halls

Tomorrow’s outstretched journey home
Should be filling my mind

But the quiet is too loud
So I make myself think of him

Alone in our empty house without
even the dog to run to him

I make myself think of him
All the stories he will tell me

About his working journey taking
us apart for two weeks

I make myself think of the normalcy
Of life’s steady routine

Trying to be grateful, cheerful
And vacate this vacation

With less than when I arrived

Leave a Reply

