The Creation of Lilith, Revisited

(Inspired by this past week, reconnecting with Her and cracking a rib in the midst of it. Both really hurt.)

Then God looked around and saw what He created. And He said that it was good.

But after a while of watching the wild things hunt, eat and procreate, God became bored.

From the dust and the dirt, He created Adam, and He called Adam good enough.

Adam wandered the meadows and the hills quite aimlessly, not knowing what to do.

God saw this and felt great love for His creation and said, “My son, I see that you are not quite knowing what to do with yourself. I shall give you a companion who will be different from you, that you shall together be entertained by those differences, complimenting each other for all your days together.”

“Yeah, that’d be cool,” replied Adam.

“Just one thing, I shall create your companion from a bone in your ribcage, close to your heart. Your companion will always feel your pull, feeling somewhat responsible for you, and always feels she belongs close to your side.”

“Yeah, okay,” replied Adam.

So God created a companion for Adam from a bone close to Adam’s heart. He saw what He created and said that it was good. God was quite impressed with Himself.

Adam was so happy. He showed Eve around the world and pointed to unnamed creatures and they were entertained. Adam more so than Eve.

Eve became restless and hungry.

She saw a tree that bore the most beautiful fruit, and it attracted her.

A snake in the tree called out to her, “This is the flavor you have been waiting for your entire existence. Come, have a bite.”

Eve replied, “I think I read somewhere that we were to stay out of this tree…but I think you are right. I know I have been waiting for something all of my life; perhaps this is what it is. I must try it.”

Eve took a bite of the fruit, and indeed it was good.

Suddenly, Adam came to her and said, “I feel a bit exposed.”

Thus they became aware of their differences, and realized there might be a purpose for it.

Soon, a child was born, then another.

Eve took care of the children, while Adam went off during the day naming things. His job was quite interesting to Eve, until he got to amoebas and shit, when it became quite tedious.

Eve began to dread Adam’s coming home each night. He would be all a-chatter, barely asking her how her day went with the boys. He could fix things just fine, but Eve wanted more.

Eve went to God and said, “I get the impression that you are a little ticked about the whole fruit-eating thing, but I need some guidance.”

And God replied, “No worries, Eve. I knew you would eat from it. That’s why I told you not to. Much more enticing that way, you know, to move things along a bit. You can’t be created from a rib and not have a little spunk in you. Proceed, My child.”

“Well, it’s not that I don’t appreciate Adam and all he does for our family, but…”

“Ah, yes, he can be a bit dull and self-occupied, can’t he? I noticed that from the beginning. That’s why I created you, hoping to get him out of himself sometimes.”

“Well, he can do that…”

“Oh yes,” chuckled God, “but only when he wants sex, right?”

“Well, yes,” said Eve shyly, with a hint of annoyance.

“Hm,” God thought for a moment. “What you need is a girlfriend.”

“A girlfriend? What is this girlfriend?” asked Eve.

“A companion for you. Someone who understands you, knows about your thoughts before you even speak them. Someone who knows how to love you, because she will be a woman as well.”

“Sounds lovely. Let’s have it then. You need a rib for her, too?”

“No, no,” said God. “I never like to do the same thing twice. Besides, you need all your ribs, for your children and grandchildren will endlessly be climbing all over you. No, no bones from you. Let’s see…Well, she will have to have the essence of you…Oh, I’ve got it. Instead of taking a rib, I will only crack it a bit, taking the energy from the crack, while leaving the bone. Are you ready?”

“Um, will it hurt?”

“Terribly, but most days, you won’t even notice.”

“Well, okay,” Eve agreed.

With a loud cry of pain, there was a great light and wind. Eve opened her eyes and saw what God created and said that it was good.

God called His new creation Lilith, after a flower with a sweet smell that Adam had named.

While Adam was at work, Eve and Lilith talked and talked and talked. They laughed together, appreciated God’s nature together, and seemed to have the same thoughts and be synchronized in every way. Their love grew.

One day, Lilith asked Eve to lay with her. Eve felt it was a natural extension of all that they were sharing, and agreed. It was most wonderful.

Lilith began to feel restless. Her eyes were always on the horizon.

“Come with me,” she said to Eve one day.

“I cannot,” replied Eve. “I am bound to Adam, and I have the children…”

“Bring them with you,” encouraged Lilith.

“I can’t. I can’t even explain why fully, but I cannot leave.”

Lilith remained a short while longer, then said to Eve, “Eve, I love you dearly and deeply, but I must go. I have to explore. I feel stifled here.”

And she left, leaving Eve with Adam, the children, and the pain in the cracked rib close to her heart as a constant reminder of what she no longer has.

159199-6

6 thoughts on “The Creation of Lilith, Revisited

  1. Reblogged this on beijas and commented:

    3/3…Ta da! Last reblog and post for however long it takes…This is my favorite whimsical thing I have written. It came so easily…but, it’s a borrowed story, so why wouldn’t it?
    Anyway, I was thinking…Since I won’t be posting here for a time, why don’t you all take a prompt or two here…For example, why don’t one of you write about love needing a thermostat, so when it gets too hot, we can turn it down, and when it gets too cold, we can turn it up, keeping it at around 80 F / 26.7 C (too hot for Her, just right for me). That way, instead of having an affair with someone or cutting them off altogether, you can adjust your love thermostat to just the right temperature so you don’t have to remove someone special from your life because your husband doesn’t ever want you to have any form of contact with them ever again, and you can instead maintain that wonderful friendship that gets created between two people who seem like twin souls dancing on the stars…Yeah…why don’t you write about that?
    Or, here’s another one to think about, a bit more profound and esoteric than the above prompt: Why not write about how when we are so micro-focused on one person, it is like looking at the world through a pinhole, seeing only a small bit of the universe; but as we expand that love to all of humanity, that pinhole opens like a sphincter to let light and love shine fully in both directions…I’m sure one of you can expand beautifully on that.
    I’ll be waiting to read what you come up with! In the meantime, I will be quiet. Enjoy this silly story, a familiar one…with a twist…

  2. Pingback: National You’re So Vain Week – The Creation of Lilith, Revisited | Silence of the Hummingbird

Leave a Reply

